A Great Week End…

Standard

Saturday started off with an early wake up call, about 8:30am.  Or the butt crack of dawn… no?  You mean the sun actually comes up earlier than that?  Well, for me that was waaaay early.  I went to sleep about 9:30 the night before just so I could get up that early.  But I digress… Jeff and I ventured over to the Torrance Farmer’s Market.  Veggies and flowers were on the agenda.

 We didn’t buy any leeks but they are so interesting I had to take a photo.
And it was probably a really great day to be selling flowers at the market… they were everywhere.
After the market we went over to Johnnie’s Pastrami in Culver City… I love the grilled chicken breast sandwich but you absolutely must add a couple of onion rings and some of their hot mustard.  Yummm.
Sunday morning was a hike in Palos Verdes… 
 It was overcast but that was a good thing.  Jeff said it would be too hot if the sun was out.  
There were wildflowers galore… Glad I don’t have allergies to these types of flora.
After a few hours of recuperation time, my son and hubby cooked a Mother’s Day dinner… fresh homemade cheese ravioli and pizza… My son is attending Le Cordon Bleu in Pasadena.  I couldn’t be more proud of him.  He is so excited and he is doing really well.  And if his ravioli is any indicator of his talent, you should be making your reservations now.  Here’s my awesome kid making fresh pasta:
Mike making pasta 🙂
Fresh Cheese Ravioli
Yummmm.  

The sauce was a cream and sun-dried tomato, and really really good… hubby made the pizza, he’s a really good cook too… and it was so awesome to see them in my tiny galley kitchen cooking together.  Happy Mother’s Day to me.  It couldn’t have been better.  
Here’s my FaceBook album in case you’re interested in seeing all the photos

One response »

Leave a Reply

